Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Love You Gone by Rona Halsall {Book Blog Tour with Review}



Series:
Standalone
Genre:
Suspense, Mystery
Publication Date:November 15th 2018
Format:Digital 
Published By:  Bookouture 

Goodreads: Love You Gone on Goodreads
My Review Copy:Thanks to Bookouture 

Where to get:

 




‘Hello? Police? My husband and our children… they’re gone.’


When Mel arrives at the holiday cottage in the Lake District, she expects to find the heating on and her husband Luke and the two children waiting for her. Maybe a bottle of wine open…

Instead, there is just a note on the side, saying they’ve gone out for a walk.

But they aren’t back several hours later, and Mel knows something is wrong. Really wrong. When a search doesn’t find them, she has to confess to the police that her marriage isn’t all that it seems.

Even if that risks her own secrets being revealed…

An absolutely incredible, page-turning psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, for fans of Gone Girl, Behind Closed Doors and Ruth Ware.




Love you gone was mind-blowing. Every single twist and turn had me completely baffled and I simply didn't see anything coming but yet bam there it was. This book was intense engrossing and fantastic. The story got started quickly and it was really hard to put the book down even between chapters. 

Mel arrives at the holiday cabin expecting to find her husband and two kids but instead finds a note saying they went for a hike and would be right back. Hours later they still haven't shown up so Mel decides to call the police. What ensues 

Any further information will surely ruin this incredibly thought out and intense story. This is a must-read. You will be thrown into the story immediately with no chance to catch your breath before the next shocking reveal.



About the Author
Rona's debut psychological thriller, Keep You Safe came out on 17th August and her second novel, Love You Gone is out now. 

Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she's actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true. 

She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful beaches on the Island while she's plotting how to kill off her next victim. She also makes sure she deletes her Google history on a regular basis, because... well, you can't be too careful when you spend your life researching new and ingenious ways for people to die.

She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!



Author Social Media Links:



 FACEBOOK  | GOODREADS TWITTER
 


Monday, November 5, 2018

Violet Ugly by J. Lynn Bailey {Book Blog Tour with Review & Giveaway}


It’s the blog tour for J. Lynn Bailey’s Violet Ugly. Check it out and be sure to grab your copy today!

Title: Violet Ugly Author: J. Lynn Bailey
Genre: Contemporary Romance


About VIOLET UGLY:

Sixteen years ago, Merit Young left Granite Harbor, Maine, for California in search of a future that didn’t involve Ryan Taylor. He’d left her in pieces on her bedroom floor, delivering a blow she couldn’t have expected. But, now, at the request of her brother, Eli, she must return and confront the demons of her past—Ryan included. After the loss they both suffered, she isn’t prepared to face him—especially considering he’s the only one who’s always been able to see right through her. Ryan has lived his entire adult life in survival mode. Growing up with an abusive father has taught him to keep women at arm’s length, and that’s never been a problem. Until Merit—the only woman he’s ever loved—strides through his front door. He’s not sure how long she’s staying, but he knows it’ll be long enough to destroy what’s left of his heart. To overcome their dark past, they’ll have to shed light on a reality that will most likely tear them apart. Merit has been hiding a heartbreaking decision from Ryan, and he’s been keeping lies of his own. Can two tortured souls heal after a lifetime of pain? Or will the hideous secrets of the past bury them both?  

Get Your Copy Today!


Give me a minute because I am still catching my breathe. This read have me all the feels from page one. I just finished it and I miss Ryan and Violet already. The characters grabbed my heart real quick and I'm finding it extremely hard to let them go.
Silence can be loud. It can crawl into the dark corners of a lit room and worsen, sitting where quiet secrets fester, spreading like weeds across issues in our own heads.

Nearly 20 years ago, Merit left her home town that she adored to run as far away from Ryan Taylor as she could. He was her childhood best friend until the one night he broke her heart. Now she avoids him at all costs until her brother Eli calls and begs her to come home to care for Ryan after a car accident. Merit agrees against her better judgement. She tells herself she'll be fine. After all she's an adult now and has made a life for herself without Ryan. So she says....

The moment the two see each other again it's obvious that they never stopped loving each other. If only there wasn't so much keeping them apart. 

Violet Ugly is a MUST READ in my book. Heartbreaking, angsty love and superb writing. What else can you ask for? 


Add On Goodreads!


   
About the Author: J. Lynn Bailey has loved to write since she learned to read, around the second grade. When she isn't running after her children, watching COPS, or on the hunt for her next Laffy Taffy joke, you can probably find her holed up in her writing room feverishly working on her next book. She lives in Northern California with her family.

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | My Website



Enter J. Lynn’s Giveaway: a Rafflecopter giveaway  

The Soldier's Girl by Sharon Maas {Book Review}



Series:
Standalone
Genre:
War, Historical Fiction
Publication Date:November 2nd 2018
Format:Digital 
Published By:  Bookouture 

Goodreads: The Soldier's Girl on Goodreads
My Review Copy:Thanks to Bookouture 

Where to get:

 



France 1944 and the streets are filled with swastikas. The story of a brave English girl behind enemy lines, a German soldier, and a terrible sacrifice…

When young English nurse Sibyl Lake is recruited as a spy to support the French resistance, she doesn’t realise the ultimate price she will end up paying. She arrives in Colmar, a French town surrounded by vineyards and swarming with German soldiers, but her fear is dampened by the joy of being reunited with her childhood sweetheart Jacques.

Sibyl’s arrival has not gone unnoticed by Commander Wolfgang von Haagan and she realises that letting him get closer is her best chance of learning enemy secrets. Yet despite her best intentions, Sibyl soon finds that betrayal does not come easy to her.

When Jacques finds that Sibyl is involved with the enemy, he is determined to prove himself to her with one last act of heroism. An act that will put all of their lives in terrible danger…

A beautifully written, heart-wrenching and unforgettable tale of love and loss in a time of war. Perfect for fans of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes and The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah.




Three words: Gripping, heartbreaking and addictive. 

English girl Sibyl Lake arrives in Colmar, a small French town, surrounded by vineyards and swarming with German soldiers. Trained as a nurse, Sibyl has been recruited as a British Agent to support the French Resistance.

When Sibyl’s work leads her to her childhood sweetheart Jacques, she is overjoyed. But their happy reunion is short lived as it is not just Jacques’ eye that Sibyl has caught …

Commander Wolfgang Von Haagan is very taken with the attractive English stranger, and Sibyl realizes that she can help her own country by listening to the secrets of this soldier’s heart. As she grows closer to Wolfgang she gets to know the man behind the uniform and despite her best intentions, soon she is caught in a terrible love triangle.

Sibyl is strong, independent and a great character that is caught between spying for her country and her love story. I loved the writing style and how the author portrays Sibyl. It was a nice change from some war books that depict women as docile.

I really enjoyed this read and would highly recommend it to historical fiction fans. 



About the Author
Sharon Maas was born in Georgetown, Guyana in 1951, and spent many childhood hours either curled up behind a novel or writing her own adventure stories. Sometimes she had adventures of her own, and found fifteen minutes of Guyanese fame for salvaging an old horse-drawn coach from a funeral parlor, fixing it up, painting it bright blue, and tearing around Georgetown with all her teenage friends. The coach ended up in a ditch, but thankfully neither teens nor horse were injured.

Boarding school in England tamed her somewhat; but after a few years as a reporter with the Guyana Graphic in Georgetown she plunged off to discover South America by the seat of her pants. She ended up in a Colombian jail, and that's a story for another day...

Sharon has lived in an Ashram in India and as a German Hausfrau--the latter giving her the time and the motivation to finally start writing seriously. Her first novel, Of Marriageable Age, was published by Harper Collins, London, in 1999 and reprinted as a digital edition in 2014. After working as a social worker in a German hospital she finally retired and now has time for her favorite pastimes: reading, writing, and travelling.


Author Social Media Links:




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...