Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

Hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl

Books to Read By the Pool/At the Beach

Summer!

via GIPHY
I am a huge fan of summer. It's warm, it's sunny, flowers are in bloom, and my birthday is getting closer! I'm not really a mood/weather reader - Halloween being the only exception - I pretty much tend to read what I want when I want.

So as far as I'm concerned, my Summer TBR list is full of books that can be read by the pool, at the beach, or while sitting in a lawn chair with your feet in a kiddie pool. (All books will be released prior to September 22 and link to their Goodreads page.)

Night Film The Wicked Deep Furyborn (Empirium, #1)
Sweet Black Waves Save the Date Providence Dance of Thieves (Dance of Thieves #1)
Catwoman: Soulstealer (DC Icons, #3) City of Ghosts (City of Ghosts, #1) Escaping from Houdini (Stalking Jack the Ripper #3)

via GIPHY
(Not summer related, but this always makes me laugh)

Are you wanting to read any of these books (this summer or otherwise)? Did a point a new "must read"? What are some books you're looking forward to reading this summer? Let me know in the comments below!

Sunday, June 10, 2018

The Things We Need To Say By Rachel Burton (Review & Giveaway)


Series:
Standalone
Genre:
Adult, Fiction, Romance
Publication Date:May 11, 2018
Format:Paperback
Published By:  HQ Digital 
Website:Rachel Burton 

The Things We Need To Say on Goodreads
My Review Copy:Thanks to Jennifer from Never Land blog tours

Where to get:

 





Sometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.

Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the way things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alonb.

As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.

Perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan



Three words: powerful, thought-provoking and beautiful. Have you ever heard the saying " Sometimes the things we don't say are more important than the ones we do"? This book is set around that premise.

Fran and Will are completely and utterly in love. They marry and that is when they start to experience heart break again and again. This couple goes through so many trials and tribulations in their life that is becomes quite apparent that the two will not survive much more.

After Will destroys Fran's trust, she runs away to a yoga retreat in Spain to gain perspective and think about her next steps. Will is noticeably heart broken but he does his best to function without his other half while she is gone. They are both hurting but they hide it from each other and run to others.

I am a huge fan of Rachel Burton since I read "The Many Colours of Us" so when I was asked to be part of this tour for the author it was a complete no brainer. Rachel pulls me in and it is so obvious that she dumps her emotions on to the page when she writes. Nothing is held back. Her books are original and heart pounding.

After reading my thoughts above it will come as no surprise to you that I give this book an enthusiastic five stars and highly recommend you go get your copy now!


Bound proof copy of The Things We Need to Say & a pack of Yogi teas
International



About the Author



Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down.

After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn't really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.

She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.

Her debut, The Many Colours of Us, was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second novel, The Things We need to Say, is out now. She is currently working on her third novel in which the heroine follows the love of her life to live in a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all.....maybe.

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday...



Friday, June 8, 2018

Off & Away by Cale Atkinson

https://1.bp.blogspot.com/-PhzFKWZ3guw/WxG5-hQdznI/AAAAAAAAY-0/5NMy5AXdhM4IAk1wqP93BJuHl5SHRRewwCLcBGAs/s1600/OFF%2B%2526%2BAWAY.jpg

I am thrilled to be a stop on the book tour for Off & Away by Cale Atkinson, hosted by Rockstar Book Tours! You can read my review below but be sure to check out the tour schedule at the end of this post, or click the banner above, for more!
Don't forget to enter the giveaway!


Series:
Standalone
Genre:
Children, Picture Book
Publication Date:June 5, 2018
Pages:48 (hardcover)
Published By:  Disney-Hyperion
Website:Cale Atkinson

Off & Away on Goodreads
My Review Copy:Received in exchange for an honest review



Where to get:

https://amzn.to/2KOeAGx https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/off-away-cale-atkinson/1127174128?ean=9781484782323#/ https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781484782323
 



How would you get mail if you lived in the middle of the sea? It's Jo's dad's job to deliver it, taking bottles wherever they need to go. He always comes home with exciting stories to tell-but Jo is far too afraid to go out on the ocean herself. Until Dad gets a bad sea cold, that is. With no one but Jo to deliver the bottles, she must find her courage and set sail alone. As she embarks on her mission, her fears just might be replaced with new friendships . . . and grand stories of her own.

With beautiful, atmospheric art and endearing new characters by author-illustrator Cale Atkinson, this picture book is a treasure.

(Goodreads) 

Adorable!

I've definitely moved into the realm of picture books since Teacup Human was born. Not only do I get to read favorites from my childhood, but I also get to find new favorites! Teacup has started flipping pages on her own now, so books do take a bit more time to read, and we sometimes skips whole pages entirely, but with Off & Away she sat back and looked at the pictures with me.

Jo's father is responsible for delivering all the messages in bottles that get thrown into the sea. Jo longs to go with her father, but is terrified of the water and the monsters that live there. When her dad comes home with a sea cold and the bottles start piling up, Jo faces her fears and delivers the bottles herself.

Cale's images of full of color, magic, imagination, and detail. Even I was mesmerized by the pictures! We are transported on Jo's adventure and learn that the monsters she was afraid of are not so monstrous.