Tuesday, July 10, 2018

The Perfect Friend by Barbara Copperthwaite {Book Review}


Series:
Standalone
Genre:
Thriller, Mystery, Suspense
Publication Date:July 5th 2018 
Format:Digital 
Published By:  Amazon Digital Services 
Website:Barbara Copperthwaite  

The Perfect Friend on Goodreads
My Review Copy:Thanks to Bookouture 

Where to get:

 



She’ll do anything for you…

My name is Alex, and my world has been shattered.
My husband has left me.
My children won’t speak to me.
My friend Carrie is the only person I have.
She’s the only one I can trust to keep all my secrets.
She’d never do anything to let me down.
Would she?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.


Three words: Edge of your seat action, amazing twists and crazy ending.

Wow, just when I thought I had figured out what was going on in this story the author twisted everything around and left my head spinning. There are twists throughout which had me constantly second guessing myself. Then she leaves us with an epilogue which totally blew everything I had previously thought out of the water.

I could not keep up with all the twists and turns this story took. I found myself going back to read certain parts because I thought I missed something but no, Barbara is just that good of a story teller! I can't believe this is my first book by her. I will definitely be rectifying that soon!

The main character Alex is a very sweet lady who seems genuine and wants to help others even though she is facing major issues of her own. She befriends Carrie first out of a sense of guilt then comes to feel as if she is a mother like figure to her. Mysterious things start to happen and Alex starts questioning her own sanity, and I found myself questioning her sanity and those around her.

The story opens at a support group meeting, with Alex, a self-proclaimed liar, recovering anorexic and a 44 year old dressmaker, giving her version of her story. She looks to her best friend, Carrie - there for support for her cancer diagnosis, to see her reaction. From there, the lies build, cross, expand and convolute for the remainder of the book.

I love it when a book takes you completely by surprise and you have to rethink everything you have been led to believe. Some of the actions the characters took in their past made me want to slap them and say get a grip for goodness sake!

This is a book that is very hard to review without giving anything away, so I will just say if you are a fan of mess with your head, psychological thrillers, you have to read this one.



About the Author

Barbara is the Amazon and USA Today bestselling author of psychological thrillers INVISIBLE, FLOWERS FOR THE DEAD, THE DARKEST LIES, and HER LAST SECRET. Her latest book is THE PERFECT FRIEND.

More importantly, she loves cakes, wildlife photography and, last but definitely not least, her two dogs, Scamp and Buddy (who force her to throw tennis balls for them for hours). ​​

Having spent over twenty years as a national newspaper and magazine journalist, Barbara has interviewed the real victims of crime - and also those who have carried those crimes out. She is fascinated by creating realistic, complex characters, and taking them apart before the readers' eyes in order to discover just how much it takes to push a person over a line.

When not writing feverishly, she is often found hiding behind a camera, taking wildlife photographs.



Author Social Media Links:



Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

Hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl

Books to Read By the Pool/At the Beach

Summer!

via GIPHY
I am a huge fan of summer. It's warm, it's sunny, flowers are in bloom, and my birthday is getting closer! I'm not really a mood/weather reader - Halloween being the only exception - I pretty much tend to read what I want when I want.

So as far as I'm concerned, my Summer TBR list is full of books that can be read by the pool, at the beach, or while sitting in a lawn chair with your feet in a kiddie pool. (All books will be released prior to September 22 and link to their Goodreads page.)

Night Film The Wicked Deep Furyborn (Empirium, #1)
Sweet Black Waves Save the Date Providence Dance of Thieves (Dance of Thieves #1)
Catwoman: Soulstealer (DC Icons, #3) City of Ghosts (City of Ghosts, #1) Escaping from Houdini (Stalking Jack the Ripper #3)

via GIPHY
(Not summer related, but this always makes me laugh)

Are you wanting to read any of these books (this summer or otherwise)? Did a point a new "must read"? What are some books you're looking forward to reading this summer? Let me know in the comments below!

Sunday, June 10, 2018

The Things We Need To Say By Rachel Burton (Review & Giveaway)


Series:
Standalone
Genre:
Adult, Fiction, Romance
Publication Date:May 11, 2018
Format:Paperback
Published By:  HQ Digital 
Website:Rachel Burton 

The Things We Need To Say on Goodreads
My Review Copy:Thanks to Jennifer from Never Land blog tours

Where to get:

 





Sometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.

Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the way things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alonb.

As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.

Perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan



Three words: powerful, thought-provoking and beautiful. Have you ever heard the saying " Sometimes the things we don't say are more important than the ones we do"? This book is set around that premise.

Fran and Will are completely and utterly in love. They marry and that is when they start to experience heart break again and again. This couple goes through so many trials and tribulations in their life that is becomes quite apparent that the two will not survive much more.

After Will destroys Fran's trust, she runs away to a yoga retreat in Spain to gain perspective and think about her next steps. Will is noticeably heart broken but he does his best to function without his other half while she is gone. They are both hurting but they hide it from each other and run to others.

I am a huge fan of Rachel Burton since I read "The Many Colours of Us" so when I was asked to be part of this tour for the author it was a complete no brainer. Rachel pulls me in and it is so obvious that she dumps her emotions on to the page when she writes. Nothing is held back. Her books are original and heart pounding.

After reading my thoughts above it will come as no surprise to you that I give this book an enthusiastic five stars and highly recommend you go get your copy now!


Bound proof copy of The Things We Need to Say & a pack of Yogi teas
International



About the Author



Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down.

After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn't really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.

She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.

Her debut, The Many Colours of Us, was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second novel, The Things We need to Say, is out now. She is currently working on her third novel in which the heroine follows the love of her life to live in a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all.....maybe.

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday...



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...