Sign up for our 2016 TBR Pile Reading Challenge and tackle your ever growing pile of books!

Saturday, October 5, 2013

Children's Books Reviews [#1]



Publication.Date  September 26th 2013
Pages:32
Published By:  Dial
Author's GRWilliam Wegman 

Flo & Wendell on Goodreads
My review copy:Review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Where to get:
 



Acclaimed artist William Wegman combines his iconic photography with his background in painting to introduce two irresistible new characters based on his real-life puppies.

Meet Flo. She’s a sophisticated big sister who’s part of a very artistic family. She likes playing with paint and wearing sweaters her mother knits. Flo also likes teasing her little brother, Wendell. They play hide-and-seek, but Flo doesn’t look very hard. They play dress up, too, but Wendell always gets the bad costumes. Their parents wish they would get along, and they do try…sometimes.

For every child who has experienced sibling rivalry, here’s a humorous look at what it takes to play nice. Perfect for fans of Maira Kalman, Ian Falconer, and dog lovers of all ages.







Publication.Date  June 27th 2013
Pages:36
Published By:  Philomel
Author's GRDrew Daywalt | Oliver Jeffers 

The Days The Crayons Quit on Goodreads
My review copy:Review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Where to get:
 



Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: We quit!

Beige is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown. Blue needs a break from coloring all that water, while Pink just wants to be used. Green has no complaints, but Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking to each other. 

What is Duncan to do? Debut author Drew Daywalt and New York Timesbestseller Oliver Jeffers create a colorful solution in this playful, imaginative story that will have children laughing and playing with their crayons in a whole new way.







Publication.Date  August 15th 2013
Pages:64
Published By:  Razorbill
Author's GRBen Gibson 

The Ghastly Dandies Do The Classics on Goodreads
My review copy:Review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Where to get:
 



They're dapper. They're monstrous. They're erudite. They're the Ghastly Dandies, a breed of beast that happen to be as well-versed in classics as they are well-dressed in knickers and neckties!

These ghastlies are guaranteed to delight readers of all ages with their clever renditions of Moby Dick, Hamlet, The Odyssey, Pride and Prejudice, Sherlock Holmes, and more.

These classic, illustrated tales told by monsters are sure to make your own little "ghastly" giggle. It's the kind of book you'll want to read to your kids, read again with your friends, and show off on your coffee table when you're done.

Don't miss the first compendium of adult classics ever to be told by monsters!





No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...