Friday, July 27, 2018

The Death & Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson {Book Review}



Series:
Standalone
Genre:
Thriller, Mystery, Suspense
Publication Date:July 26th 2018 
Format:Digital 
Published By:  Amazon Digital Services 
Website:Kerry Wilkinson 

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker on Goodreads
My Review Copy:Thanks to Bookouture 

Where to get:

AMAZON
 



‘I will never forget the night I drowned…’

A village with something to hide.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor Parker wakes up cold and alone in the river that twists through her quiet village. She has no memory of how she got there. But she does know that another girl was drowned in the same river the summer before, held under the water by an unknown killer…

A community torn apart.

Eleanor is a normal, every day teenager. She argues with her mum, spends her days with her best friend, and is looking forward to a carefree summer of sunshine and music. Who would want to hurt her?

A shocking secret.

Determined to unlock the mystery of what really happened to her, Eleanor can't escape the feeling that something awful links her to the previous summer's murder. But will she find out the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and extraordinary coming of age novel that will make you question everything and keep you guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Looking for Alaska by John Green and hit TV show Riverdale


Three words: Captivating, Mysterious and Fantastically Told. 

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker follows Eleanor as she tries to piece together the events of the previous evening, you see she wakes up after she's been drowned in the town river. Yup, you heard me correctly, Eleanor wakes up DEAD! As she begins to gather evidence on the previous nights events that lead her into the river, she realizes there are many suspects, even those closest to her. Eleanor ponders about her existence as an un-dead person through out the novel, which to me made me believe in the story even more. Sleep, hunger and human emotions are evading her, and her body is slowly disintegrating.
Finding her own killer becomes non-negotiable for Eleanor when another girl is taken, and her brother Oliver comes under suspicion.

I was so engrossed in this storyline, even when I wasn't reading the book I couldn't help to think about it. I couldn't wait to find out who really killed her! Kerry weaves the plot expertly and really engages the reader into the story. I felt for all the characters and their part of the plot. 

This story is YA mystery with a little paranormal thrown in. This is not my typical genre but I have no regrets giving it a try as I found out  it is important to "think outside the box". I will definitely be picking up more books by Kerry Wilkinson in the near future. 



About the Author

Kerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy - a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults - a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like 'barm' and 'ginnel'.

When he's short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he's not, he writes it all down.




Author Social Media Links:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...