Sign up for our 2016 TBR Pile Reading Challenge and tackle your ever growing pile of books!

Monday, September 12, 2016

Audiobook Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

Adult, Realistic Fiction, Thriller
Publication.Date:July 12, 2016
Pages:N/A (Audiobook)
Published By:  Redhook
Website:Hollie Overton 

Baby Doll on Goodreads
My review copy:
Borrowed from the local library

Where to get:


For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next... her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter...and to her captor.


Baby Doll has a similar concept as Room by Emma Donoghue but, in my mind, is handled much better and more psychological. While Room is told from the perspective of five-year-old Jack, Baby Doll is told from the perspective of Lily, held captive since she was sixteen for eight years; her twin sister, Abby; her mother, Eve; and her captor, Rick.

After Rick accidentally leaves the cellar door unlocked, Lily takes advantage of his mistake to escape with her daughter, young daughter Sky. The story that follows is that of Lily's homecoming and all the nitty gritty that follows: the hospital visits, the police, the reporters, the adjusting, the numerous revelations and twists.

Hollie does an excellent job with a dark and tough subject matter. Each point of view is expertly written and completely engrossing. Lily is tough and strong, determined to not allow Rick to control her life now that she's free. Abby and Eve struggling to come to terms with what their sister and daughter endured over the last eight years. Rick, manipulative and twisted, attempting to understand why Lily would betray him, justifying his actions to himself, and convinced there are those that will sympathize with him.

The decision to have these four narrators truly made the story interesting and engrossing. Yes, Lily's narrative is the most interesting, but by giving us these three additional narrators Hollie allows us to get a full and complete understanding of the events following Lily's escape.

Additionally, the voice narrators (Jenna Lamia: Lily/Abby; MacLeod Andrews: Rick; and Ellen Archer: Eve) added an extra emphasis to the story. I don't typically encourage people to read the text verse listening to the Audiobook, but this is not an Audiobook (or book, really) you want to pass on.

Overall, a heavy read but handled delicately and realistically.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...