Sign up for our 2016 TBR Pile Reading Challenge and tackle your ever growing pile of books!

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Blog Tour: A Season of Fireflies by Rebecca Maizel (Guest Post + Giveaway)

Welcome to Day #9 of the A Season for Fireflies Blog Tour!
To celebrate the release of A Season for Fireflies by Rebecca Maizel (6/28/16), blogs across the web are featuring exclusive content from Rebecca and 10 chances to win a copy of A Season for Fireflies, as well as a chance to win a Summer Reading Prize Pack in the Grand Prize Giveaway!

Guest Post:

Fireflies Characters in Shakespeare
by Rebecca Maizel

Penny: Beatrice in Much Ado About Nothing. Like Beatrice's headstrong nature, Penny is quite proud of her wit and abilities. She also is a romantic at heart. 
Panda: Mercutio from Romeo and Juliet. One of my favorite fictional characters of all time. While Mercutio's end is quite tragic (though Panda's is not), Panda has a depth within him that can be quite sad at times. Like the word mercurial - both Mercutio and Panda can be unpredictable. 
Wes: Probably Claudio in Much Ado About Nothing. He loves Penny fiercely, but is quick to judge (like Claudio did of Hero!) and quick to assume rumors about her. He is flawed, like Claudio is in many ways, but he is very loyal. 
Kylie: Kylie is taller than Hermia (ha! sorry, Hermia) but I think that she's fierce like Hermia in A Midsummer Night's Dream and will stand up to people when she needs to. She's a noble like Hermia and fights against her father to marry the man she loves versus the one he chooses for her - she's STRONG. 
May: May is most like Olivia in Twelfth Night. Both women are not afraid to stand up for what they want, take risks, put on a costume, and protect herself. May is fiesty like Olivia and when she's mad at Penny, she let's it be known!

Tour schedule:

Stop by Parajunkee tomorrow for the last stop of the tour!
June 20th – The Fandom
June 21st — Bookhounds
June 22nd — Daisy Chain Book Reviews
June 23rd  — Mundie Moms
June 24th — Supernatural Snark June 27th — A Dream Within A Dream
June 28th — The Book Cellar
June 29th — PageTurners
June 30th — Bookish
July 1st — Parajunkee

About The Book:

Follow Rebecca: Website | Twitter | Facebook
A captivating contemporary novel about first love, second chances, and the power of memory, by the author of Between Us and the Moon, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Katie Cotugno.

One year ago, Penny Berne was the star of her high school’s theater department, surrounded by a group of misfits and falling in love with her best friend, Wes.

Now her old friends won’t talk to her, her first love, Wes, ignores her, and her best friend is the most popular girl in school. Penny is revered—and hated.

But when a near-fatal lightning strike leaves Penny with no memory of the past year, or how she went from drama nerd to queen bee, Penny realizes she may have the second chance she never expected.…

About the author:

About the Author: Rebecca Maizel hails from Rhode Island, where she teaches high school literature at her alma mater the Wheeler School. She tries not to force her students to read her books, though. Rebecca is the author of several published novels for young adults, and recently achieved an MFA in Writing for Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She also enjoys Indian food, her dog Georgie, and running moderately long distances.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...