Sign up for our 2016 TBR Pile Reading Challenge and tackle your ever growing pile of books!

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

The Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler (Interview + Giveaway)


I am thrilled to be a stop on the book tour for The Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler hosted by Jean Book Nerd! Today, I have an interview for your reading pleasure, but be sure to check out the tour schedule below, or click the banner above, to read reviews and more!
Don't forget to enter the giveaway!

Title: The Truth About Us
Author: Janet Gurtler
Series: Standalone
Release Date: April 7, 2015
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Realistic Fiction, Contemporary
Find it: Goodreads | Amazon Barnes & Noble Book Depository
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult."-Booklist

The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.
She's made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she's paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.
She pretends it's all fine. That her "perfect" family is fine. But it's not. And no one notices the lie...until she meets Flynn. He's the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.

The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care.
But Flynn is the definition of "the wrong side of the tracks." When Jess's parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don't get that the person who shouldn't fit in your world... might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.

Interview

Welcome to Bookish, Janet! I'm so excited to have you here with us today!

Thanks for having me!

In tweet form (140 characters or less), how would you describe the story of The Truth About Us?

If there’s no such thing as perfect, how much can you forgive?

Could you tell us a little bit about the inspiration behind it?

I like the idea that people aren’t always who they appear to be on the surface. And I loved the idea of a boy who is willing to dig a little bit to see the truth about a girl who isn’t who she seems to be. How romantic is that? I think this is a love story that was inspired a little bit by the teenager I was.

What is the hardest line to write - the first or the last?

The last. Beginnings are easier for me.

What is the most memorable reaction you've had from a reader?

I still hear really personal stories from people who read I’m Not Her and related to the character of Tess, who is the relative of someone who has cancer. I think my most poignant reaction has been heart ache for people who’ve reached out and shared their story with me. I love hearing from each and every reader, because READER! It’s an amazing thing to have people read your work and react to it from their own perspective, good, bad and indifferent. We all bring different things to the stories we read and we all react in different ways. They’re all valuable to the reader I think.

What is your most interesting writing quirk?

Huh. I kind of want to say I can only write naked or facing the south but truthfully I’m pretty boring. Coffee. Laptop. Maybe my quirk is my writing companion. A chubby black Chihuahua who refuses to eat dog food.

About the Author

A Rita Award Finalist and Crystal Kite Award Finalist, Janet Gurtler's young adult books have been chosen for the JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION and as BEST BOOKS FOR TEENS from the Canadian Children’s Book Center. Janet lives in Okotoks Alberta, Canada with her husband, son, and a chubby black Chihuahua named Bruce.


Giveaway

Cheaters Never Prosper
Open International // 13+

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

April 7th Tuesday: Jean BookNerd Vlog Post & TENS LIST
April 8th Wednesday: Bookish INTERVIEW
April 9th Thursday: Once Upon a Twilight REVIEW & FILL IN THE BLANKS
April 10th Friday: Literally Meanderings REVIEW & RANDOM THINGS
April 11th Saturday: Pieces of Whimsy THIS OR THAT

***

April 12th Sunday: Spiced Latte Reads REVIEW & DREAM CAST
April 13th Monday: Her Book Thoughts REVIEW
April 14th Tuesday: BO-OK Nerd Canada REVIEW & FAVORITE BOOKS
April 15th Wednesday: Book Passion for Life REVIEW & GUEST POST
April 16th Thursday: Book à la Mode REVIEW
April 17th Friday: Bumble and Fairy-Tales REVIEW & EXCERPT
April 18th Saturday: CBY Book Club INTERVIEW

***

April 19th Sunday: Tea-rrific Reads REVIEW
April 20th Monday: A Leisure Moment REVIEW
April 21st Tuesday: Such a Novel Idea REVIEW & MUSIC PLAYLIST
April 22nd Wednesday: Chapter by Chapter REVIEW & EXCERPT


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...