Sign up for our 2016 TBR Pile Reading Challenge and tackle your ever growing pile of books!

Monday, December 16, 2013

The Trap (The Hunt #3) by Andrew Fukuda (Review)

Young Adult, Dystopia, Thriller, Science Fiction
Publication.Date  November 5th 2013
Published By:  St. Martin's Griffin
AuthorAndrew Fukuda

The TRAP on Goodreads
My review copy:Received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Where to get:

From author Andrew Fukuda comes The Trap, the explosive finale to The Hunt trilogy—perfect for fans of The Hunger Games!

After barely escaping the Mission alive, Gene and Sissy face an impossible task: staying alive long enough to stop an entire world bent on their destruction. Bound on a train heading into the unknown with the surviving Mission girls, Gene, Sissy, David, and Epap must stick together and use everything they have to protect each other and their only hope: the cure that will turn the blood-thirsty creatures around them into humans again. Now that they know how to reverse the virus, Gene and Sissy have one final chance to save those they love and create a better life for themselves. But as they struggle to get there, Gene's mission sets him on a crash course with Ashley June, his first love . . . and his deadliest enemy.


You have one minute, he tells us, to climb into one of the enclaves in the wall. Only one person per unit. Then a glass window will snap down, sealing you inside. That is a good thing. Because it protects you. The lights go out - the only time they ever do - and the darkness is morbid and terrifying. And then they come down into the catacombs to gawk at the hepers. The Ruler and his retinue. Up and down the corridors, looking and staring, drooling and shaking. The Ruler will inevitably point to a particular heper. If it's you, you're as good as dead. Because within the next hour your enclave will be retracted into the walls, and whisked away on some transportation system. From bed to coffin, just like that.
"Why are you doing this?" I shout.
Ashley June turns to me. Her eyes, a shattering softness in them. "Because I know everything. The whole truth. And it's not what you think. It's not wat you think at all."

    There is no other word for this book, really. It completely blew my mind to pieces, and I swear, I will never fully recover from reading it! I liked the first book (The Hunt), though I had a few issues with the sketchy plot line (I think we all remember the armpit scene?). I really loved the second book (The Prey) - the writing improved a lot, the characters were developed further and with more care, and the plot line itself was action packed and completely breathtaking. But the third book (The Trap)? Lord, the third book rendered me speechless. After I finished reading it, I sat in my *reading chair* for hours, staring out the window with a dumb (SERIOUSLY dumb) expression on my face, and with my tea cold and long forgotten. I could not comprehend what just happened. I could not wrap my mind around the brilliant ending. I could not get over the genius of it all. Like I said. Insanity. 

     It's no secret that the best twists are the ones you don't see coming. Andrew Fukuda is a master of these kind of twists. Not only did he do a fantastic job tying all the loose ends together and answering all the questions that we've been asking since book one in the series, but he did it with such ease, confidence and boldness.. I absolutely LOVED it. Not to mention that I totally did not see any of it coming (and I'm usually one to predict all the major plot twists and big reveals way ahead). Seriously, I can not stress enough how fabulous the conclusion to this awesome series is. I kid you not, it's the best final book in a series I've ever read. 

     Since I don't want to spoil all the gasp-worthy surprises, I will not be discussing the plot of The Trap in detail. One thing I gotta say, though, is.. If you thought that The Hunt and The Prey were intense, action-packed and often times disturbing, brace yourself, The Trap is even more of a wild ride. I could not bring myself to put it down. My heart was pounding, I was shocked, amazed and totally addicted. I realize that I probably sound crazy, not to mention repetitive, but the plot of The Trap was honestly THAT good. And the ending, with the big reveal involving the Origin, and Gene and Sissy's connection to it.. and then the mystery surrounding Gene's dad.. gosh! The whole thing forced me to look back at the first two books and completely re-evaluate everything I thought I knew and understood. I thought I had it all figured out. I thought this was yet another fun yet stereotypical dystopian. I thought I'd put it down, forget about it and move on to other books. But NO! I have read it about a month ago and I am still reeling from it. 

     I absolutely loved where the story went and how Fukuda handled the complicated relationship between Gene, Sissy and Ashley June. I particularly loved how much all these characters grew since the beginning of the series (especially Gene), how mature they've all become. And it's really no wonder, considering all the things they've been put through. In The Trap alone so much happens, they learn so much about the world and themselves, they lose people close to them and have to make decisions that forever change their lives.. I couldn't help but be amazed by how incredibly moving and emotionally affecting this book was. More than once I found myself on the verge of tears with this one. 

     The Trap is filled with awesome action and twisty developments. It's a very entertaining and gripping read for sure. Above all, though, it's just such a brilliant, complex and thought-provoking story, I don't think I've ever read anything quite like it. Intelligent, well thought-out and intellectually stimulating, this is definitely my favorite dystopian series ever. I'm so glad I have joined Gene and Sissy on this incredible journey and I can't wait to see what else Fukuda has in store for us!

Goodreads Instagram Twitter Facebook Page YoutTube Google+

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...