Sign up for our 2016 TBR Pile Reading Challenge and tackle your ever growing pile of books!

Friday, December 27, 2013

Books We're Looking Forward to in 2014


Hosted by Rachel from Fiktshun, Lisa from A Life Bound By Books, Jessica from Confessions of a Bookaholic, Jaime from Two Chicks on Books and Mindy from Magical Urban Fantasy Reads, the Top 10 of 2013 runs for five consecutive days and highlights some of our favorite reads throughout the year.

Today, we've each picked at least one book that we are Looking Forward to in 2014 (comprised of books released in 2014).




There are a plethora of amazing books coming out in 2014. The two that I am most looking forward to are actually series finales. I know it seems odd that I'd be looking forward to an end of two series that I absolutely love, but sometimes too much of a good thing is not a good thing. Ya know?

Take Me On by Katie McGarry. Katie McGarry's books are so good. I love her characters and I love the romance and I want more. So YAY to the fact that there will BE more! Next year. Now I just need to sit here and wait patiently... *runs around screaming*

Don't Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Hi, my name is Jessica and I am a JLA addict. For this reason, I am freaking DYING for Don't Look Back. I love the cover and I love the author and the synopsis sounds interesting and can I just have it right now, please? PLEASE?

Panic by Lauren Oliver: "Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do. Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought."

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings: "An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna. Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision."

Cress by Marissa Meyer: "Rapunzel’s tower is a satellite. She can’t let down her hair—or her guard. In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker—unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can."

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge: "Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny. Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him. With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she's ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people. But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her. As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex's secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love."

Honorable Mentions (yea, I cheated a bit):



What were some of books you're looking forward to next year? We love recommendations! :)

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...